Follow the passion

A blog for people who love to think

Ugly web problem

The one of the most ugly problems for me is tracking and managing all my activities on the web. Ex., I’d like to post a comments on your blog posts, but I’m always forget it. And the RSS reader doesn’t solve this problem. And often my friend write something on his/her LiveJournal. I’d like to post a comment, but I haven’t an LiveJournal account and I don’t want to create dozens of accounts just to post a comment. And OpenID isn’t going to solve this problem too. I even can’t see all my writings everywhere on the Web for a givig period of time!!! It’s annoying….I’d like to have some social network with ability to track all my and my friends’ activities on the web. see what are they doing right now. Facebook have the News app, but it’s suitable only if you’re going to read something thru facebook’s link. Twitter doesn’t solve this problem too. There can be some solution in a form of mashup…but I don’t seem to me a great idea, cos you’re relying on some other services…

The users must own their information. But how? Technically I mean. I see 3 techical approaches here for now.

1. All current web 2.0 spaces’ providers must integrate into them some kind of system approved by the majority, so it is possible to track and search.
It’s obvious, that it’s impossible (now).

2. We can make something on the user’s side – on the browser side. Extension spying all users activities on the web and tracking it somewhere in a cloud (like Amazon storage).

this approach seems more realistic, but it has some serious problems – it’s a centralization and it’s contradicting the Web nature.

3. The third approach is to make user and his spaces the part of the Web. And this means to turn user into a server. All user’s activities and data tracked and stored locallly and like a part of the Web can be crawled by search engines or something more special.
This approach also has limitations like user’s “server” must be always available and we need to invent some way to track all user’s data thru this “server”. Hmm….it seems to me that this approach very similar to 2))))

October 10, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. It’s good that you’re writing your stories in English.

    Good stuff. I really like it.

    I’m bookmarking your blog and will check it out again in the future.

    Marc

    Comment by evolvingtrends | October 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Thanks, Marc! 🙂

    Comment by bloodcarter | October 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. we help brands drive sales and reach, connect, engage and maintain relationships with their target audience via social media.

    Comment by Missing Link Social Midea | August 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

